Settlement Workers in Schools

A School Settlement Worker:

  • contacts newcomer parents and students to assist them with their settlement needs
  • provides supportive one-on-one settlement counselling to newcomer youth and adults
  • connects families to community resources based on their need
  • works with school staff to help students and parents adjust to the Ontario school system
  • provides orientation about the settlement needs of newcomers to school staff
  • provides group information sessions on settlement topics for newcomer youth and parents, often in partnership with school staff

CLICK HERE for links to helpful Back-to-School information.

For up-to-date school information visit local school board websites:
Upper Grand District School Board  https://www.ugdsb.ca/
Wellington Catholic District School Board  https://www.wellingtoncdsb.ca/

School Bus Cancellation/Inclement Weather Policy: There have been changes for 2020-2021. CLICK HERE for information about what happens when buses are cancelled due to bad weather.

CLICK HERE to download the flyer for Fall Youth Activities. The program takes place online using Zoom, Wednesdays from 4:30pm - 5:30pm. CLICK HERE to register.

ISGW offers a Youth English Conversation Circle for students wanting to improve their English. It takes place online using Zoom, Thursdays from 4:00pm - 5:00pm. CLICK HERE to register.

Contact SWIS:

Due to COVID -19, SWIS workers will be working remotely by phone and email to provide day-to-day settlement support to youth and families. See contact information below.
Katty Lam: 226-332-0785, klam@is-gw.ca
Stella Lim: 226-821-4454, slim@is-gw.ca
Binaya Nyaupane: 226-821-0524, bnyaupane@is-gw.ca
Nahom Tekle: 226-332-0784, ntekle@is-gw.ca
Kaileigh Wenstrup: 226-332-0790, kwenstrup@is-gw.ca
Ali Zaidi: 226-332-0783, azaidi@is-gw.ca

If you are a school principal and have newcomer families in your school who would benefit from our support, contact us! For schools in Wellington County, contact Ali Zaidi at 226-332-0783, azaidi@is-gw.ca For schools in Guelph, contact Katty Lam at 226-332-0785, klam@is-gw.ca

Funded by: